Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News


Article By: Fritz Stillings

Photo by Greg Hamil
04/02/2013 7:05 PM -

IceHogs defeat the Admirals 2-1 at the BMO

Rockford, Ill. - First and second period goals for the Rockford IceHogs proved to be enough, as the Hogs defense and stingy goaltending held on the rest of the way to defeat the Milwaukee Admirals 2-1 at the BMO Harris Bank Center Tuesday evening.

A scoreless affair through most of the period, IceHogs forward Kyle Beach put Rockford on the board with less than two minutes remaining. Byron Froese passed to Beach in the slot, who wristed a shot low through traffic and past Milwaukee goaltender Magnus Hellberg for his 15th goal of the season.

It marked Froese’s second consecutive game with an assist and defenseman Ryan Stanton also picked-up the secondary assist on the play for his 20th helper on the campaign.

In the second period, after Rockford was called for too many men on the ice, the Ads tied the game. Milwaukee’s Brad Winchester passed cross-ice to Juuso Puustinen who found Michael Latta on the doorstep to complete the tic-tac-toe passing, evening the score at 1-1.

The tie wouldn’t last long as Brandon Pirri found Stanton streaking in the Milwaukee zone. The defenseman took advantage of a stick-less Milwaukee blueliner in Scott Ford and sniped his second goal of the season past Hellberg to give Rockford the 2-1 lead.

Back-and-forth throughout the third period, Rockford managed to keep the Admirals at bay and more importantly off of the scoring sheet as IceHogs goaltender Henrik Karlsson made 14 saves during the period and finished the night with 31 overall.

Rockford fired 23 shots on Hellberg. Rockford was unsuccessful on three man-advantages, while killing off four out of five Milwaukee power play opportunities.

Next Home Game: Sunday, April 7 vs. Peoria Rivermen at 5:05 p.m. It’s the Hogs 14th annual jersey auction as the IceHogs will don special “Abrahammy Lincoln” jerseys that will be auctioned off following the game.  The first 2,500 fans to the game will receive a commerative Abrahammy Lincoln coin, compliments of Lou Bachrodt.