Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News


IceHogs winger Sean McMorrow signs autographs after talking to kindergartners at Spectrum School in Rockford. McMorrow was named Rockford’s American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year on Thursday.
03/26/2009 1:10 PM

Article By: Mike Peck

Rockford, Ill.- The Rockford IceHogs are proud to announce that right wing Sean McMorrow has been named the team’s winner of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Rockford community during the 2008-09 season.

McMorrow is a true throw back on and off the ice.  His “tough guy” presence on the ice has made him a fan favorite at the Rockford MetroCentre and his work and commitment to the Rockford community have solidified IceHogs fans’ sentiment of the Vancouver native off the ice.

During the 2008-09 season, McMorrow has been a staple in the community for the IceHogs. Some of Sean’s community appearances include several hospital visits, school visits, helping out at Jr. IceHogs Youth Hockey practices and Teddy Bear delivery to non-profit organizations during the holiday season.

McMorrow’s efforts off the ice have reinforced the AHL vision of commitment to the community in Rockford.

In recognition of his efforts, McMorrow will be presented with an etched crystal trophy during an on-ice presentation prior to an upcoming IceHogs home game.

McMorrow is now one of 29 finalists for the AHL’s 2008-09 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League in the coming weeks.

Next Home Game: Sunday, March 29 vs. Houston Aeros.  Game time is 5:05 p.m.  A quick turnaround for the IceHogs finds them back on home ice on Sunday for the final regular season contest against the Aeros.  Sunday is this season’s final Sunday Fundae. Fans can also help celebrate Hammy’s Birthday with other local mascots and the first 2,000 fans to the game will receive an IceHogs 10th Anniversary Canvas courtesy of Stanley Steemer and Rasmussen College.