Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News

Western Conference Quarterfinal Series Starts Thursday

From (link)

The Chicago Blackhawks will launch the 2009 Stanley Cup Playoffs, the team’s first playoff appearance since 2002, when they face the Calgary Flames in the best-of-seven Western Conference Quarterfinals (Series H) beginning at the United Center on Thursday, April 16 at 7:30 P.M., and Saturday, April 18 (TBA).

Games 3 and 4 will be held at the Pengrowth Saddledome in Calgary on Monday, April 20 at 8:30 P.M. and on Wednesday, April 22 (TBA). If necessary, the Blackhawks will host Game 5 on Saturday, April 25 at 9:00 P.M., the Flames will host Game 6 on Monday, April 27 and Chicago will host Game 7 on Wednesday, April 29, with start times for the final two contests to be determined.

The Blackhawks are the fourth-seed in the Western Conference, marking the first time since the first round of the 1996 Stanley Cup Playoffs (also against Calgary) the team has home-ice advantage in a postseason series. Chicago swept the regular-season series against Calgary, winning all four games in regulation, while holding a 19-7 scoring advantage. The Blackhawks have faced the Flames three times before the Stanley Cup Playoffs, which includes posting a 4-games-to-0 series sweep in the 1996 Western Conference Quarterfinals. Calgary defeated Chicago, 3-games-to-0, in the 1981 Preliminary Round and notched a 4-games-to-1 series win in the 1989 Campbell Conference Finals.

Below is a complete schedule of Series ‘H’:

Game 1 Thu., April 16 7:30 P.M. United Center
Game 2 Sat., April 18 TBA United Center
Game 3 Mon., April 20 8:30 P.M. Pengrowth Saddledome
Game 4 Wed., April 22 TBA Pengrowth Saddledome
Game 5* Sat., April 25 9:00 P.M. United Center
Game 6* Mon., April 27 TBA Pengrowth Saddledome
Game 7* Wed., April 29 TBA United Center
All times are Central. Games 5, 6 and 7 are if necessary.