Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News

Blackhawks Set Regular-Season Opening Roster

09/30/2009 5:52 PM

Article By:

From (link)

The Chicago Blackhawks have set their regular-season opening roster, which consists of 13 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders. The roster features 18 players that were part of the club's run to the 2009 Western Conference Final.

Troy Brouwer, Dustin Byfuglien, Dave Bolland, Ben Eager, Colin Fraser, Patrick Kane, Tomas Kopecky, Andrew Ladd, John Madden, Patrick Sharp, Radek Smolenak, Jonathan Toews, Kris Versteeg

Cam Barker, Brian Campbell, Jordan Hendry, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Aaron Johnson, Duncan Keith, Brent Seabrook, Brent Sopel

Corey Crawford, Cristobal Huet, Antti Niemi

In addition, the Blackhawks have assigned forwards
Bryan Bickell, Evan Brophey, Jake Dowell, Rob Klinkhammer and Jack Skille to the American Hockey League's Rockford IceHogs and have placed forwards Adam Burish and Marian Hossa on Injured Reserve.

Chicago, which finished the preseason with a 2-3-1 record, opens its 82nd regular season against the Florida Panthers in Helsinki, Finland as part of NHL Premiere 2009 on Friday, October 2 at 11:00 A.M. (CT). The teams face off again in Helsinki on Saturday, October 3 at 11:00 A.M. (CT) before the Blackhawks make their 2009-10 debut in North America at the Detroit Red Wings on Thursday, October 8.