Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News


Photo by Steven Christy
04/05/2012 2:24 PM

Article By:

SPRINGFIELD, Mass - The American Hockey League announced today the 2011-12 AHL First and Second All-Star Teams, as voted by AHL coaches, players and media in each of the league’s 30 member cities. Former Rockford IceHogs defenseman Brian Connelly earned second team honors.

Connelly, 25, spent parts of the last four seasons manning the IceHogs blue line before he was traded to the Calgary Flames on Jan. 27, 2012. The Bloomington, Minnesota native tallied 126 points (21g-105a) in 211 regular-season games.

Connelly is Rockford's all-time leader for assists and points by a defenseman and was selected to his second-straight AHL All-Star Game in 2011-12.

2011-12 AHL First All-Star Team
G Yann Danis, Oklahoma City Barons (40gp, 25-12-2, 2.11gaa, .924sv%, 5so)
D Mark Barberio, Norfolk Admirals (69gp, 12+47=59pts., +23, 37 PP pts.)
D Paul Postma, St. John’s IceCaps (55gp, 13+31=44pts., 24 PP pts., 3 GWG)
LW Chris Bourque, Hershey Bears (67gp, 26+64=90pts., 50 PP pts.)
C Keith Aucoin, Hershey Bears (43gp, 11+59=70pts., 38 PP pts.)
RW Kyle Palmieri, Syracuse Crunch (46gp, 32+23=55pts., +11, 7 GWG)

2011-12 AHL Second All-Star Team
G Ben Bishop, Peoria Rivermen/Binghamton Senators (41gp, 26-15-0, 2.27gaa, .930sv%, 6so)
D Brian Connelly, Rockford IceHogs/Abbotsford Heat (69gp, 6+43=49pts., 20 PP pts.)
D Clay Wilson, Abbotsford Heat (63gp, 15+26=41pts., +4, 3 GWG)
LW Cory Conacher, Norfolk Admirals (70gp, 34+39=73pts., +11, 7 GWG)
C T.J. Hensick, Peoria Rivermen (61gp, 21+46=67pts., 26 PP pts., 4 GWG)
RW Jon DiSalvatore, Houston Aeros (70gp, 26+31=57pts., 27 PP pts., 3 GWG)

Each All-Star Team member will receive a custom-designed crystal award in recognition of his selection to the 2011-12 AHL First and Second All-Star Teams.