Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News


11/07/2012 2:32 PM -

Veteran is named seventh captain in team history

Rockford, Ill.- Rockford IceHogs Head Coach Ted Dent has named center Martin St. Pierre the seventh captain in team history, he announced on Wednesday.

The veteran pivot is currently skating in his second season with the IceHogs and ninth overall in the pro ranks. St. Pierre was also a member of the IceHogs in 2007-08.  Entering Week 5 of the 2012-13 American Hockey League regular season, St. Pierre had participated in 450 career AHL games, notching 478 points.

The Emburn, Ont. native currently has nine points, including two goals and seven assists, in 10 games. St. Pierre has also appeared in 38 National Hockey League games with the Chicago Blackhawks, Boston Bruins and Ottawa Senators.

Dent also announced that forward Ben Smith will serve as alternate captain, while Ryan Stanton will don the “A” during home games and Wade Brookbank will be the alternate captain during road games.

Previous IceHogs captains during the team’s AHL era include Jim Fahey (2007-08), Tim Brent (2008-09), Jake Dowell (2009-10), Garnet Exelby (2010-11), Brandon Segal (2011-12) and Brian Fahey (2011-12).

Next Home Game: Saturday, Nov. 10 vs. Milwaukee. Puck drop is scheduled for 7:05 p.m. The IceHogs take on the Milwaukee Admirals for the first of 12 meetings on the campaign. For tickets, call (815) 968-5222 or online through