Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News


Article By: Chicago Blackhawks

05/06/2013 8:12 AM -

The National Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2013 Calder Memorial Trophy, honoring the league’s top rookie, naming Chicago Blackhawks forward Brandon Saad as one of three players up for the award. Forwards Brendan Gallagher (Montreal Canadiens) and Jonathan Huberdeau (Florida Panthers) were also named finalists.

Saad, 20, tallied 27 points (10G, 17A) in 46 games this season with the Blackhawks, sharing fifth on the team in points and ranking fourth in assists. He paced NHL rookies in plus/minus (plus-17), ranked third in assists and was fifth in points. He shared fifth in goals, was one of five rookies to score a shorthanded goal and was tied for fifth in game-winning goals (2). Saad ranked second among league rookies with 26 takeaways.

The Pittsburgh, Penn., native scored his first-career NHL goal on Feb. 5 at San Jose and tallied a season-high three points twice (March 5 and March 31). The 6-1, 202-pound forward posted 18 points (7G, 11A) in 30 regular-season contests with the Rockford IceHogs of the American Hockey League prior to joining the Blackhawks.

This marks the third time in the last six years that a member of the Blackhawks has been nominated for the award: Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane (2007-08), Kris Versteeg (2008-09).

Previous Blackhawks to win the Calder Memorial Trophy include: Mike Karakas (1935-36), Cully Dahlstrom (1937-38), Ed Litzenberger (1954-55), Bill Hay (1959-60), Tony Esposito (1969-70), Steve Larmer (1982-83), Ed Belfour (1990-91) and Patrick Kane (2007-08).

The winner of the 2013 Calder Memorial Trophy will be announced during the Stanley Cup Final.