Proud Affiliate

IceHogs News

The Ocho: Blackhawks Hope History Repeats with Crazy Eights in NHL Draft

Jeremy Roenick
06/19/2018 8:24 AM

Article By: Rockford IceHogs

Since the installment of the NHL Amateur Draft in 1963, the IceHogs’ NHL affiliate, the Chicago Blackhawks, held the eighth overall selection on four occasions including this season’s upcoming event June 23-23 in Dallas, Texas.

For the Blackhawks, this year’s draft is the first time the organization has held a top-10 pick since selecting Patrick Kane first overall in 2007 and just the seventh top-10 selection since the turn of the millennium. 

Prior to the 1987-88 campaign, the Blackhawks received their first-ever No. 8 selection, young 6-foot-1, 180-pound netminder Jimmy Waite out of the QMJHL’s Chicoutimi Sagueneens. The Sherbrooke, Quebec, native appeared in 58 games with Chicago over parts of eight seasons (1988-97) and enjoyed a 22-year player career before returning to the Blackhawks organization as the Goaltending Coach (2014-present).

The following summer, Chicago nabbed their most successful no. 8 choice with forward Jeremy Roenick in the 1988 NHL Entry Draft. The Boston product picked up 66 points his first full rookie campaign and tacked on three 100-point seasons with the Blackhawks and picked up 1,216 career points in 1,363 career games over 20 NHL seasons with Chicago, Phoenix, Philadelphia, Los Angeles and San Jose.

Forward Mark Bell pushed into the NHL scene during the 2000-01 season after a successful four-year career with the Ottawa 67’s in the OHL including a 60-point season in 1997-98 that allowed the Blackhawks to find him at no. 8 in that summer’s lottery. After spending most of the rookie season in Norfolk (AHL), Bell contributed 151 points over five seasons in Chicago before departing to San Jose, Toronto, Anaheim and overseas.

No. 8 Selections – Chicago Blackhawks

1987     Jimmy Waite    

1988     Jeremy Roenick            

1998     Mark Bell         


Most Successful No. 8 Selections – NHL History

1987     Jeremy Roenick (1216 points in 1363 games)

1979     Ray Bourque (Boston, 1579 points in 1612 games)

1981     Grant Fuhr (Edmonton, 867 games played, 3.38 goals-against average)


No. 8 Selections – Last 30 Years

2018                                        Chicago Blackhawks

2017     Casey Mittelstadt            Buffalo Sabres

2016     Alexander Nylander       Buffalo Sabres

2015     Zach Werenski               Columbus Blue Jackets

2014     William Nylander           Toronto Maple Leafs

2013     Rasmus Ristolainen        Buffalo Sabres

2012     Derrick Pouliot               Pittsburgh Penguins

2011     Sean Couturier               Philadelphia Flyers

2010     Alexander Burmistrov     Atlanta Thrashers

2009     Scott Glennie                 Dallas Stars

2008     Mikkel Boedker              Phoenix Coyotes

2007     Zach Hamill                   Boston Bruins

2006     Peter Mueller                 Phoenix Coyotes

2005     Devin Setoguchi             San Jose Sharks

2004     Alexandre Picard            Columbus Blue Jackets

2003     Braydon Coburn             Atlanta Thrashers

2002     Pierre-Marc Bouchard     Minnesota Wild

2001     Pascal Leclaire               Columbus Blue Jackets

2000     Nikita Alexeev                Tampa Bay Lightning

1999     Taylor Pyatt                   New York Islanders

1998    Mark Bell                    Chicago Blackhawks

1997     Sergei Samsonov           Boston Bruins

1996     Johnathan Aitken           Boston Bruins

1995     Terry Ryan                    Montreal Canadiens

1994     Jason Wiemer                Tampa Bay Lightning

1993     Niklas Sundstrom           New York Rangers

1992     Brandon Convery           Toronto Maple Leafs

1991     Richard Matvichuk          Minnesota North Stars

1990     Derian Hatcher              Minnesota North Stars

1989     Jason Herter                  Vancouver Canucks

1988    Jeremy Roenick          Chicago Blackhawks

Season Tickets for 2018-19 on Sale Now:
Don’t miss a moment of the action by reserving your seats for the IceHogs’ 20th season of professional hockey in Rockford and 12th as the top AHL affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks. The IceHogs’ home opener is set for Oct. 13 and ticket packages begin as low as $105 for a seven-game mini pack. Please contact us at (815) 847-6399 or visit to claim your spots for this upcoming season.