Proud Affiliate



06/16/2010 1:27 PM

Article By: Jason Chaimovitch

Springfield, Mass.- The American Hockey League has announced division alignments for the 2010-11 season, and the Rockford IceHogs remain in the West Division of the Western Conference. Joining Rockford and the six other teams in the West will be the Oklahoma City Barons, affiliates of the Edmonton Oilers. No changes will occur in the North Division.

In the Eastern Conference, the Devils will join the East Division as the New Jersey Devils return their minor league team to Albany for the upcoming season. Additionally, the Charlotte Checkers, affiliates of the Carolina Hurricanes, will join the East.

Eastern Conference  
Atlantic Division
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)
Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)
Manchester Monarchs (LA)
Portland Pirates (BUF)
Providence Bruins (BOS)
Springfield Falcons (CBJ)
Worcester Sharks (SJ)

East Division
Adirondack Phantoms (PHI)
Albany Devils (NJ)
Binghamton Senators (OTT)
Charlotte Checkers (CAR)
Hershey Bears (WSH)
Norfolk Admirals (TB)
Syracuse Crunch (ANA)
   Penguins (PIT)

Western Conference
North Division
Abbotsford Heat (CGY)
Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)
Hamilton Bulldogs (MTL)
Lake Erie Monsters (COL)
Manitoba Moose (VAN)
Rochester Americans (FLA)
Toronto Marlies (TOR)
West Division
Chicago Wolves (ATL)
Houston Aeros (MIN)
Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
Oklahoma City Barons (EDM)
Peoria Rivermen (STL)

Rockford IceHogs (CHI)
San Antonio Rampage (PHX)
Texas Stars (DAL)

The 2010-11 season of the American Hockey League will mark not only the league’s 75th anniversary, but also an all-time high of 30 active teams, as each National Hockey league team will have their own primary AHL affiliate playing next season.

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serves as the top developmental league for all 30 National Hockey League teams, as more than 85 percent of today’s NHL players are graduates of the AHL.  The 2010-11 regular season will open on Oct. 8, and the complete schedule will be released later this summer.