Proud Affiliate



04/13/2008 6:33 PM

Article By: Mike Peck

Players recognized for outstanding season

Rockford, Ill.- Rockford IceHogs Team President Ryan Washatka along with Head Coach Mike Haviland and Assistant Coach Ted Dent presented the IceHogs 2007-08 team awards following the Hogs final regular season game on Sunday afternoon against the Iowa Stars.

Overall, the club handed out seven different awards. 

The only player to receive multiple awards was Martin St. Pierre.  St. Pierre was awarded Team MVP and Leading Scorer for the ’07-08 season. St. Pierre led the IceHogs in points and assists and was Rockford’s only representative at the AHL’s Annual All-Star Game.  The centerman was also named a Second Team All-Star last week.

Rockford’s Rookie of the Year went to winger Jack Skille.  Skille led all IceHogs first year skaters in points during his first full professional season.  Entering play on Sunday, Skille had amassed 33 points.  The Madison, Wisconsin native also received a pair of recalls to the Chicago Blackhawks playing in 16 games and netting a pair of goals with three assists.

Winger Bryan Bickell was honored with the team’s Most Improved Award.  Playing in his second season in the AHL, Bickell easily topped his point production from his rookie season.  With the IceHogs this season, Bickell chipped in 19 goals and 20 assists.  Bickell also established himself as one of Rockford’s most physical players. 

The IceHogs awarded center Colin Fraser with the club’s Unsung Hero Award for ’07-08.  Fraser, an IceHogs alternate captain, was one of Rockford’s top penalty killers this season.  Entering play on Sunday, Fraser had appeared in 74 games and accumulated 16 goals and 22 assists.  Fraser also ranked at or near the top in plus/minus on the IceHogs this season.

Wade Flaherty has named the IceHogs Fan Favorite.  The Hogs veteran puck stopper earned his 300th career win in 2007-08.  Flaherty played in 31 games with Rockford and his veteran presence was key for the club on and off the ice.  Skating in his 19th professional season, Flaherty turned in a record of 13-8-1 with two shutouts. 

Center Gavin Morgan recognized as the IceHogs Man of Year during Rockford’s first season in the AHL.  Morgan was of the leaders on the IceHogs in the community and participated in several different community events throughout the course of the season.