Proud Affiliate



07/14/2011 8:00 AM

Article By: Mike Peck

Hogs to face Charlotte eight times in new season

Rockford, Ill.-The Rockford IceHogs, in conjunction with the American Hockey League released the IceHogs opponent grid for the 2011-12 regular season. The upcoming season will feature 76 regular season games with revamped divisions.

Rockford will play in the AHL’s Midwest Division, which will feature the Charlotte Checkers, Chicago Wolves, Milwaukee Admirals and Peoria Rivermen. Of the 76 games on Rockford’s 2011-12 slate, 44 of them will be against the Midwest Division, including 12 each against Chicago, Milwaukee and Peoria, including six at home and six on the road.

Charlotte, which was moved to the Western Conference, will face-off against Rockford eight times. The Checkers will be the only new opponent on Rockford’s upcoming schedule.

The IceHogs will play two home and two road games against each team in the AHL’s West Division including the Abbotsford Heat, Houston Aeros, Oklahoma City Barons, San Antonio Rampage and Texas Stars.

Four North Division opponents round out Rockford’s schedule with four games against both the Grand Rapids Griffins and Lake Erie Monsters and a home-and-home set against the Hamilton Bulldogs and Toronto Marlies.

The entire 2011-12 regular season schedule will be unveiled by the AHL later this summer. Rockford is set to open their 13th season of professional hockey in Rockford and fifth as the AHL affiliate of the National Hockey League’s Chicago Blackhawks on Saturday, Oct. 8.

Season Tickets On Sale For 2011-12:
It'll be a long summer without IceHogs hockey and season ticket packages for the 2011-12 season are now on sale. To find a ticket package that quenches your hockey thirst, call (815) 847-6399.