Proud Affiliate



06/28/2013 10:30 AM

Article By: Mike Peck

16 former IceHogs have now won hockey's top prize

Rockford, Ill.- For the second time in four years,  the Chicago Blackhawks have won the Stanley Cup. And for the second time, 10 former Rockford IceHogs were a part of the Hawks championship run.

Chicago defeated the Boston Bruins 3-2 in Game 6 of the best-of-seven series on Monday night at TD Garden in Boston. Former IceHogs goalie Corey Crawford led the way for Chicago, compiling a 16-7 record. Crawford played for Rockford from 2007-2010. Former Rockford forwards Bryan Bickell (2007-10) and Dave Bolland (2007-08) each scored goals within 17-seconds in the game's final moments to win the decisive game.

Other former IceHogs that had a hand in the Blackhawks second Stanley Cup since 2010 include Brandon Bollig, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Marcus Kruger, Nick Leddy, Brandon Saad, Ben Smith and Andrew Shaw.

Bollig, Kruger, Leddy, Saad, Smith and Shaw all suited up and played for Rockford this past season. For Bickell, Bolland and Hjalmarsson, the 2012 title marked the second of their respective careers.

Overall, 16 former IceHogs have won the Stanley Cup and have totaled 21 rings between them. Other former IceHogs that were member's of Stanley Cup Championship teams include Nick Boynton, Troy Brouwer, Dustin Byfuglien, Colin Fraser (in both 2010 and 2012), Jordan Hendry, Antti Niemi and Kris Versteeg.

Season Tickets On Sale:
Take advantage of all the great benefits that go along with IceHogs season tickets including same great seat for every game, never a wasted ticket policy, up to 30% savings off the price of tickets and more! Call (815) 847-6399 to reserve your seats or for more information.