Proud Affiliate


Havlat, Khabibulin On 2008 All-Star Ballot

11/06/2007 11:58 AM

Article By:

From (link)

NEW YORK -- A League-high six players from the defending Eastern Conference champion and 2007-08 top-ranked Ottawa Senators have been named to the ballot in XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports, which opens Nov. 13.

The Senators, off to the League's best start with a 12-1-0 record, are represented by forwards Dany Heatley, Jason Spezza and Daniel Alfredsson, the League's top-scoring trio in both the regular season and Stanley Cup playoffs in 2006-07; defensemen Chris Phillips and Wade Redden, teammates on the Senators blueline since 1997-98; and goaltender Ray Emery, who is making his first appearance on the All-Star ballot after backstopping the Senators to the Stanley Cup Final last season.

For the second consecutive season, the NHL-All Star Fan Balloting process will be entirely digital. From Nov. 13 through Jan. 2, fans around the world can "Vote Now, Vote Often" online at to select the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game in Atlanta. In addition, U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless cell phones.

The 2007-08 season marks the 20th year in which fans will determine the starting lineups for the NHL All-Star Game. Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for "write-in" votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

XM, which airs every NHL game for every team as the exclusive satellite radio network of the NHL, is the Title Sponsor and 2K Sports, a leading publisher of current and next generation sports video games including NHL® 2K8 featuring Ottawa Senators center Jason Spezza, returns as the Presenting Sponsor.

NHL broadcast partners VERSUS (U.S.), RDS (Canada) and NASN (Europe) will team up with the NHL to deliver a comprehensive and global on-air presence to All-Star Fan Balloting. Each broadcast partner will provide unique, in-game ?Vote Now, Vote Often? features, broadcast promos and online direct links to the NHL All-Star Fan Balloting section on

The XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section on will feature an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage. Residents of the United States and Canada who vote will be able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates. One grand prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game in a private suite joined by former NHL players, courtesy of XM.

NHL Member Clubs will activate local ?Vote Now, Vote Often? campaigns, supporting their balloted players.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

Following are the 104 players named to the 2007-08 ballot in XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports:

2007-08 XM / NHL All-Star Fan Ballot



Martin Biron, Philadelphia Flyers

Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils

Rick DiPietro, New York Islanders

Ray Emery, Ottawa Senators

Cristobal Huet, Montreal Canadiens

Olaf Kolzig, Washington Capitals

Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers

Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres

Tomas Vokoun, Florida Panthers

Cam Ward, Carolina Hurricanes


Jay Bouwmeester, Florida Panthers

Dan Boyle, Tampa Bay Lightning

Brian Campbell, Buffalo Sabres

Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins

Tomas Kaberle, Toronto Maple Leafs

Andrei Markov, Montreal Canadiens

Bryan McCabe, Toronto Maple Leafs

Chris Phillips, Ottawa Senators

Wade Redden, Ottawa Senators

Henrik Tallinder, Buffalo Sabres

Kimmo Timonen, Philadelphia Flyers

Ryan Whitney, Pittsburgh Penguins


Maxim Afinogenov, Buffalo Sabres

Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

Jason Blake, Toronto Maple Leafs

Daniel Briere, Philadelphia Flyers

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Chris Drury, New York Rangers

Patrik Elias, New Jersey Devils

Simon Gagne, Philadelphia Flyers

Brian Gionta, New Jersey Devils

Scott Gomez, New York Rangers

Bill Guerin, New York Islanders

Dany Heatley, Ottawa Senators

Marian Hossa, Atlanta Thrashers

Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers

Olli Jokinen, Florida Panthers

Saku Koivu, Montreal Canadiens

Ilya Kovalchuk, Atlanta Thrashers

Vyacheslav Kozlov, Atlanta Thrashers

Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning

Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Marc Savard, Boston Bruins

Brendan Shanahan, New York Rangers

Jason Spezza, Ottawa Senators

Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes

Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs

Thomas Vanek, Buffalo Sabres

Justin Williams, Carolina Hurricanes



Niklas Backstrom, Minnesota Wild

Jean-Sebastien Giguere, Anaheim Ducks

Dominik Hasek, Detroit Red Wings

Nikolai Khabibulin, Chicago Blackhawks

Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames

Pascal Leclaire, Columbus Blue Jackets

Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks

Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose Sharks

Marty Turco, Dallas Stars


Francois Beauchemin, Anaheim Ducks

Rob Blake, Los Angeles Kings

Scott Hannan, Colorado Avalanche

Ed Jovanovski, Phoenix Coyotes

Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings

Mattias Ohlund, Vancouver Canucks

Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames

Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks

Brian Rafalski, Detroit Red Wings

Robyn Regehr, Calgary Flames

Sheldon Souray, Edmonton Oilers

Lubomir Visnovsky, Los Angeles Kings

Sergei Zubov, Dallas Stars


Jason Arnott, Nashville Predators

Mike Cammalleri, Los Angeles Kings

Jonathan Cheechoo, San Jose Sharks

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes

Marian Gaborik, Minnesota Wild

Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks

Martin Havlat, Chicago Blackhawks

Milan Hejduk, Colorado Avalanche

Ales Hemsky, Edmonton Oilers

Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames

Paul Kariya, St. Louis Blues

Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

Daymond Langkow, Calgary Flames

David Legwand, Nashville Predators

Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks

Andy McDonald, Anaheim Ducks

Mike Modano, Dallas Stars

Brenden Morrow, Dallas Stars

Rick Nash, Columbus Blue Jackets

Markus Naslund, Vancouver Canucks

Brian Rolston, Minnesota Wild

Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche

Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

Ryan Smyth, Colorado Avalanche

Paul Stastny, Colorado Avalanche

Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks

Keith Tkachuk, St. Louis Blues

Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings