Proud Affiliate



Tim Brent was named the Rockford IceHogs 2008-09 captain on Friday, but the IceHogs fell 2-1 to end their six-game winning streak. (By Greg Hamil)
10/31/2008 7:58 PM

Article By:

Rockford's six-game winning streak snapped

Rockford, Ill.-  The Rockford IceHogs took the lead in the second frame, but the Manitoba Moose came back for a 2-1 win at the Rockford MetroCentre, ending Rockford's six-game winning streak.

"There were two good teams going at it," said Rockford coach Bill Peters. "And one team played with a little bit more desperation."

The IceHogs league-leading power play broke the scoreless stalemate thanks to Pascal Pelletier on a 5-on-3 advantage at 4:26 in the second period.  Petri Kontiola and Danny Groulx were credited with the assists.

But then the Moose's Jason Jaffray put the puck past Corey Crawford at 13:07 in the second on a power play, with helpers from Mark Cullen and Nolan Baumgartner.

And Guillaume Desbiens put the Moose up thanks to a misplay by Rockford defenseman Tim Hamby.  Desbiens intercepted a pass from Hambly behind the net and put it in the goal with Crawford playing the puck away from the net at 13:51.

"That's how it is some nights," Peters said. "We just weren't as good as we are most nights."

The IceHogs finished 1-for-9 on the power play, while the Moose were 1-for-7.

"We took a lot of stupid penalties in the third period," Peters said. "When the game's on the line and you're trying to come back, that makes it virtually impossible."

Cory Schneider picked up the with 19 saves.  Crawford had 25 saves in his first loss of the season.

Next Home Game: Saturday, Nov. 1 vs. Syracuse Crunch.  Game time is 7:05 p.m.  The Syracuse Crunch roll into Rockford for their only game inside the MetroCentre in 2008-09.   Also it’s “HOG to the CHIEF” as the IceHogs host a mock election just three days before the real Election Day.  The Hogs will be giving away as many as 1,500 John McCain bobbleheads and 1,500 Barack Obama bobbleheads.  The first candidate to run out is declared the winner of the bobble election.